No Meat Athlete

I had a lot of recipes that I was going to post about from this weekend. Unfortunately, I had quite a few culinary catastrophes to deal with.  Long story short, none of the recipes turned out.  At some point, I will be attempting them again, but for now I don’t really have any yummy food to share with you.

What I can share with you is that today marks the first day of training for the Chicago marathon.  I’ve had a wonderful 4 weeks off since I ran the Nashville marathon, but now it is time to get back on the horse.  That’s right folks!  I am once again going to be entering the world of no social life, daily pains and obsessive compulsive workout schedules!  The only difference is, this time I am doing it all as a vegan.

Yesterday I ran and it was all wrong.  I felt week and tired and out of breath way too easily.  It would have been nice to attribute all my problems to the heat of the summer sun, but I dealt with it last year too and it was not like this.  I have concluded that as a vegan, I am probably not eating enough food (or the right type of food) to do the amount of training I am about to undertake.  For weeks now, I have been experimenting with different recipes and learning bits and pieces about being vegan, but it’s time to step up my game.

I was turned on to a book called Thrive by Matt over at No Meat Athlete.  I am reading through it now and I hope that it will help me to fuel my body properly on plants.  As much as I am in love with being vegan, my first love was running and I don’t want to sacrifice that for veganism.

So if there is anyone out there who reads this blog and has some experience on the subject of being a vegan long distance runner I would love to hear from you on the subject.  If you have any advice to share I would be very grateful to hear it!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Colline said,

    Have you read Brendan Frazier’s book “The Thrive Diet”? Amazing! He is a sucessful triathlete who is also a vegan.

  2. 2

    TheShellyBelly said,

    Yup! That’s the book I found over at No Meat Athlete :) I am reading it now!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

